Final Fantasy 16: Differences With Final Fantasy 15


Here’s how Final Fantasy 16 is different from Final Fantasy 15 in a few ways.

As the name suggests, Final Fantasy 16 is the 16th main game in the long-running and popular Final Fantasy series. Square Enix made and released the game. It takes place in the made-up world of Valisthea, which is a war-torn medieval fantasy world with action RPG features. In Final Fantasy 16, players take on the role of Clive Rosfield, a young knight from the Grand Duchy of Rosaria who goes on a quest to understand and uncover the mysteries of the Mothercrystals, which are a source of great and mysterious power, while also fighting to protect his younger brother.

Final Fantasy 15, the last main Final Fantasy game, was criticized by both reviewers and fans when it came out. People didn’t like that the game’s story wasn’t finished, that it had an odd open world, a boring way to fight, and that a lot of important material was turned into DLC. Square Enix, on the other hand, made sure not to make the same mistakes with Final Fantasy 16. The story is more mature and detailed, and the battle system is more complex. The game also has beautiful graphics and an epic music that really show how hard the people who made it worked.


Game Settings

Final Fantasy 15 takes place in the world of Eos, which has a mix of fantasy and real-world themes. It is home to lively countries with advanced technology that fight for control. The game is about the crown prince of Lucis, Noctis Lucis Caelum, and his loyal friends as they go on a dangerous journey to get their land back from Niflheim, which has taken it over. Even though the setting of the game is interesting, it wasn’t very well done. The fantasy and modern parts didn’t fit together as well as they could have. Making the whole thing feel more forced and, in the end, less enjoyable.

On the other hand, Square went back to the standard medieval fantasy setting for Final Fantasy 16. Final Fantasy 16 takes place in the made-up world of Valisthea. Which has six different countries that are all run by the mysterious Mothercrystals. The crystals give the chosen Dominants the power of Eikons. The Dominants are the most powerful people in each of the six great countries. The setting of Final Fantasy 16 feels much bigger than that of Final Fantasy 15, making for a much more interesting game.


Game Worlds

Eos is a big, open world in Final Fantasy 15 that you can explore. It is full of immersive landscapes, lush environments, and busy towns. The Regalia, Noctis’s famous car, is used by players and the rest of their party to get from one place to another. Long road trips with a group of close friends sounds like a lot of fun. But the gameplay is boring and repetitive because there isn’t much to do while the car takes you from one place to another. Once the player gets out of the car, though, they can do side quests, explore dangerous areas, and fight monsters.

Final Fantasy 16 is different from Final Fantasy 15 because it doesn’t have an open world. Instead, the world of Valisthea is split into 6 different areas. Players will be able to explore the world, which is divided into four big areas that are each 2 km by 2 km and become accessible as Clive’s story goes on. Even though Final Fantasy 16 isn’t an open-world game, players can still go back to earlier regions. This lets them finish side quests they didn’t finish or even start new ones.

Combat System

Combat Systems

The fighting system in Final Fantasy 15 is mostly real-time and action-based. But there is also a “wait mode” that lets players stop the action scenes and take a look around. At first, players could only handle Noctis and use physical attacks, magic spells, summons. And powerful weapons called the Royal Arms to fight. But later, after an update, players could also take control of other people in their party. Even though the fighting is fun, it boils down to the same strategies that can be used to beat any enemy. This makes the system feel dull in the end.

Final Fantasy 16 builds on the combat of Final Fantasy 15 by keeping the real-time combat instead of the standard turn-based one. It takes ideas from other action-packed games and has hack-and-slash combat with magic, dodging, parrying, and limit breaks. Using unique Eikon skills makes the fights even more complicated. Players can only handle the main character, Clive, but they can give some commands to other party members.

Eikons Vs. Summons

Combat Systems

In Final Fantasy 15, the well-known spirit beings from Final Fantasy are used as summons that Noctis can call on to help him fight. These calls are important to the story of 8 Ball Pool game and lead to some epic moments. Some are unlocked when you hit important plot points, while others have to be unlocked through side quests. Even though the summons are important for turning the tide in important fights and look great on film. They can only be used a few times, which makes them less important in the long run.

In Final Fantasy 16, on the other hand, these beings are called Eikons. And the Dominants are the people who can use their skills. Dominants and their Eikons are very important to the story of Final Fantasy 16. Which makes them feel much more important. In the game, players control Clive as he fights both the Dominants in their human forms and the Dominants when they turn into Eikons. Each fight is different and shows how strong the Eikons are. As the story goes on, Clive is also able to use the powers of different Eikons.

Final Fantasy 16 will be available on PlayStation 5 when it comes out on June 22, 2023.

Similar Posts